Upcoming Children’s Class

Main LifeLeap Café LifeLeap Institute Related Upcoming Children’s Class

• This topic has 1 reply, 2 voices, and was last updated by Dale.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

pedsnurse
    Basic Member
      • Topics: 2
      • Replies: 0
      • New Participant
      • Topic Author
      Credits: 0.00

I am a pediatric home health nurse. I am very interested in your upcoming class for children.
      Are there some simple exercises I can start using now that might help these children get more control over their emotions and become more perceptive?
      I work with special needs children and they can be manipulative at times. I think they are grasping for control somewhere in their lives.
      I am also the proud Grandmother of 2 remarkable Granddaughters, so I can’t wait to see what your class has to offer for them, too.
      Your website is awesome!!!!!

Dale
      Keymaster
      Teacher
        • United States
          Credits: 823.00

Here is an idea you can play around with – if a child you are working with seems to have an issue, the first thing you want to do is identify what that issue is. It can be as simple as asking them questions such as “what are you upset about,” or “how do you feel about that friend at school that you keep talking about.”

It could even be noticing a physical pain the child has. As soon is you spot something you want to work with, try this exercise:

Get out some markers and papers and have them draw something that symbolizes the issue they are having. It could be a stick figure of someone they are having problems with or it could be a shape that symbolizes a pain they may be experiencing on the physical level (give the shape of color, texture, etc). Make this whole exercise into a game — making fun for them.